Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip

Dundee honors firefighters, first responders

DUNDEE—The Dundee Fire Department recognized the efforts of its first responders last year with an awards banquet Friday, Jan. 25, in which they named Loren Weaver Fireman of the Year and Diane Warriner Emergency Squad Member of the Year.
Warriner took home the Member of the Year Award for the emergency squad for making 192 runs last year, as well as the Most Training Hours Award for her 83 hours of training last year. Weaver was selected for his dedication and reliability during fire calls.
“This guy is almost always at the top of the list every time,” Fire Chief David Bambey said. “He helps on ambulance calls. If you’re going into a structure, he’s the kind of guy you want to have with you.”
The award for Most Training Hours for the fire department went to Jim Moore, who accumulated 239.5 hours in 2012.
“He took a total of 10 state and county classes in addition to our in-house training,” Steve Warriner said.
Outstanding Service Awards were presented to Ben Hill, Tracey Miller, Lamar Sensenig and Abram Martin.
“These guys are always helping,” Bambey said. “It was tough but we narrowed it down to four people.”
Special Service Awards went to Moore, Steve Hill and Ed Allen for their dedicated work with the fire department. The fire department presented Community Service Awards to the Dundee Rotary Club, New York State Assemblyman Philip Palmesano (R, C, I–Corning) and Congressman Tom Reed (R–Corning).
“Congressman Reed and his office were able to help an awful lot,” Bambey said. “We would like to present this plaque for all the things he has done for our apartment and all the other departments over the years.”
Bambey said Palmesano wrote a letter of endorsement for the fire department and has also helped the department immensely over the years.
“You guys and the dedication you show to our communities and what you do for us on a day to day basis, just know in our office we will always be standing with you and we appreciate everything you do,” Reed said.
For the Dundee Emergency Squad, Alex Sullivan was presented with the Driver of the Year Award for making 140 runs in 2012. The emergency squad’s Outstanding Service Awards went to Moore and Dan Gottshall, while Dan Petersen received the Chief’s Special Award. Gene Rhode and Ernest Martin each received silver coins from D. B. Miles during the ceremony.
The steak dinner was prepared by the Himrod Fire Department and was served by the Ladies’ Auxiliary.







Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: