Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip

Election may be confusing for some

TRI-COUNTY AREA—Voters have a number of choices when it comes to the Nov. 2 general election, including one or two selections that might seem confusing.
One thing voters should be aware of is the special election for the 29th Congressional District. Nov. 2 is the date Gov. David Paterson appointed for the election, so this means the 29th seat will appear twice on the ballot, side by side.
Yates County Republican Commissioner Amy Daines said voters will choose a candidate for the regular term, which starts Jan. 1, 2011, and a candidate to fill the remainder of the current term Eric Massa vacated.  It ends Dec. 31, 2010.  Both races will be on the ballot, side-by-side.
“In my opinion, it’s going to be confusing,” said John Vona, Schuyler County Democratic Commissioner. “It’s very possible people will only vote for one.”
Candidates for both the special and regular election are the same people: Tom Reed (Republican, Conservative, and Independence) and Matt Zeller (Democratic and Working Families). Daines said people will find the regular and special election choices on rows 10 and 11 of the Nov. 2 ballot. Vona said for Schuyler voters it is rows 9 and 10.
Regardless of the county, the first column will read “Representative in Congress 29th District (Vote for ONE).” Daines explained this is for the regular term, starting Jan. 1, and lasting two years.
The next column reads “Representative in Congress Unexpired Term 29th District (Vote for ONE).” Daines said this is the special election, to fill the seat for the remainder of the 2010 year.
“(The number of candidates) is more than usual,” said Yates County Republican Commissioner Amy Daines. “There are more candidates, more competition than we’ve seen in the past. The Tea Party has got people stirred up.”
Voting locations will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Candidates range from town level, to state governor, and U.S. representative.
In Yates County, there are three different town positions on the ballot. Calvin Crosby (Republican) is running for a Barrington town board seat. John H. Martini (Democratic) is running for a Torrey town board seat. Margaret Randolph (Republican) is seeking the Middlesex town justice position. All are unopposed.
In Schuyler County, five candidates are running for three legislative seats. The candidates are Philip C. Barnes (Republican and Conservative), Thomas M. Gifford (Republican), Michael A. Yuhasz (Republican and Conservative), Angeline J. Franzese (Conservative), and Karen Radenberg (Independence).
The only other contested position is the Hector town justice. Daniel J. Fitzsimmons (Democratic and Conservative) and Donald C. Beckley (Republican) are vying for the position.
Also in Schuyler, Jagmohan Singh (Conservative) is on the ballot for county coroner. Thomas J. Beach (Republican) is seeking the town of Cayuta highway superintendent position. Lori A. Ellison (Republican) is on the ballot for a town of Orange board seat. All three are unopposed.
The rest of the state and regional candidates are:
Governor and lieutenant governor:
• Andrew M. Cuomo and Robert J. Duffy (Democratic, Independence, and Working Families).
• Carl J. Paladino and Gregory J. Edwards (Republican, Conservative, and Tax Payers).
• Howie Hawkins and Gloria Mattera (Green).
• Jimmy McMillan (Rent is 2 Damn High).
• Warren Redlich and Alden Link (Libertarian).
• Kristin M. Davis and Tanya Gendelman (Anti Prohibition).
• Charles Barron and Eva M. Doyle (Freedom).
• Thomas P. DiNapoli (Democratic and Working Families).
• Harry Wilson (Republican, Independence, and Conservative).
• Julia A. Willebrand (Green).
• John Gaetani (Libertarian).
Attorney general:
• Eric T. Schneiderman (Democratic, Independence and Working Families)
• Dan Donovan (Republican and Conservative).
• Carl E. Person (Libertarian).
• Ramon J. Jimenez (Freedom).
U.S. Senator—six year term:
• Charles E. Schumer (Democratic, Independence, and Working Families).
• Jay Townsend (Republican and Conservative).
• Colia Clark (Libertarian and Anti Prohibition).
U.S. Senator—two year unexpired term:
• Kirsten E. Gillibrand (Democratic, Independence, and Working Families).
• Joseph J. DioGuardi (Republican, Conservative, and Tax Payers).
• Cecile A. Lawrence (Green).
• Joseph Huff (Rent is 2 Damn High).
• John Clinton (Libertarian).
• Vivia Morgan (Anti Prohibition).
• Bruce Blakeman (Tax Payers).
State Supreme Court Justice Seventh District (Includes Yates and Steuben Counties):
• Stephen J. Lynch (Democratic).
• Henry J. Scudder (Republican, Independence, and Conservative).
Congress 29th District:
• Matthew C. Zeller (Democratic and Working Families).
• Thomas W. Reed
State Senate 53rd District:
• Pamela Mackesey (Democratic and Working Families).
• Thomas F. O’Mara (Republican and Conservative).
Assembly 136th District (Yates and Steuben Counties):
• Philip A. Palmesano (Republican, Independence, and Conservative).
• Jason D. Jordan (Common Sense).
Assembly 137th District (Includes Schuyler County):
• James E. Hare (Democratic).
• Christopher S. Friend (Republican).
• Paul N. Marcellus (Conservative).




Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: