Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip
Hall defeats Fenton in primary ADVERTISEMENT

Hall defeats Fenton in primary

TRI-COUNTY AREA--Yates and Steuben County residents took part in Republican primary elections Thursday, Sept. 10. Candidate Lois E. Hall won the election for the contested Yates County clerk position with 830 total votes over fellow candidate Virginia A. Fenton's 502 votes. The two will be squaring off again for the position in November's general election, as Fenton will be running on an independent ticket.
In Yates County, candidates also ran for four legislative seats in District 1 (Italy, Jerusalem and Middlesex) and four seats in District 3 (Milo), along with the county clerk and coroner positions. At the town level, there were contested elections for two Jerusalem town council seats, two Milo town council seats, an unexpired term on the Potter town council and an Italy highway superintendent position. The unofficial results are as follows:
County Clerk
Lois E. Hall won the primary race for Yates County clerk with 830 votes (62.31 percent) over Virginia A. Fenton's 502 votes (37.69 percent).
District 1 Legislator (Italy, Jerusalem and Middlesex) -- Four seats.
Challenger Edward A. Bronson led the five candidates with 386 votes (26.08 percent). He was followed by incumbents Douglas Paddock with 329 votes (22.23 percent), Gary Montgomery with 317 votes (21.42 percent) and Elden Morrison with 267 votes (18.04 percent). Challenger Bradley Jones finished last with 174 votes (11.76 percent).
District 3 Legislator (Milo) -- Four seats.
Incumbent Leslie Church led the seven District 3 candidates with 290 votes (19.62 percent). She was followed by incumbents Mark Morris with 255 votes (17.25 percent) and Daniel Banach with 242 votes (16.37 percent), as well as challenger P. Earle Gleason with 239 votes (16.17 percent). Challenger Bill Laffin had 180 votes (12.18 percent), challenger Marsha Devine had 176 votes (11.91 percent) and challenger Robert Schwarting had 94 votes (6.36 percent).
County Coroner
Challenger Brian C. Champlin won the primary election for Yates County coroner with 648 votes (53.25 percent) over incumbent Ronald E. Dailey's 565 votes (46.43 percent).
Jerusalem Town Council -- Two seats.
Incumbent Daryl Jones led the three candidates with 202 votes (36.33 percent), with challenger Paul R. Anderson claiming 180 votes (32.37 percent). Challenger Tim P. Cutler came in third with 170 votes (30.58 percent).
Milo Town Council -- Two seats.
Incumbent Dale Hallings led the three candidates with 310 votes (39.95 percent). Incumbent Arden Sorensen Jr. followed with 290 votes (37.37 percent), while challenger Mark Morris came in third with 176 votes (22.68 percent).
Potter Town Council
Brian A. Bootes won the primary election for an unexpired term on the Potter town council with 56 votes (70 percent) over Terry L. Button's 24 votes (30 percent).
Italy Highway Superintendent
Steve Faulkner won the primary election for Italy highway superintendent with 62 votes (95.38 percent), defeating Scott M. Jones' two votes (3.08 percent).
The following Yates County primary candidates have also filed as independent and candidates for the general election in November: Fenton, Dailey, Schwarting, Bootes, Morris, Devine, Laffin and Button.
Urbana (Steuben County)
Incumbent John Webster won the primary election for Urbana town supervisor with 117 votes (51.32 percent), defeating challenger Edward P. Stull, who had 109 votes (47.81 percent). William K. Yahn also won the race for Urbana town justice with 131 votes (59.55 percent), defeating Rochelle L. Casselbury's 89 votes (40.45 percent).

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: