Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip
Incumbents win, except in Watkins ADVERTISEMENT

Incumbents win, except in Watkins

TRI-COUNTY AREA--Village elections were held Wednesday, March 18 across area villages for several positions. In Dundee, Fred Cratsley Jr. was elected mayor with 35 votes over Doug Hammond's two and Mickey Westfall's one. Warren Smith and Greg Wright were elected trustees with 38 and 36 votes respectively.
In Dresden, William Hall won the mayoral election with 18 votes over Ronald Merritt's two votes. Steven Venturino was elected as a village trustee with 15 votes over Darlene Conley's three votes and David Wernsing's one vote.
In Hammondsport, Emery Cummings was elected mayor with 128 total votes over Barbara Keck's 70 votes. David Luppino and Stella Pulver were elected trustees with 173 and 111 votes respectively. Bruce White received 55 votes, while Terry Nardone received 47 votes.
However, in Watkins Glen, incumbents Mark Swinnerton and Scott Gibson were voted out of office. Gibson was defeated by Democratic challenger for mayor Samuel Schimizzi, with 231 votes to Gibson's 205. Richard Scuteri had a total of 34 votes.
Swinnerton, in turn, was edged out by a single vote in a five-way race for two open trustee seats. Democrats Gary Schmidt and Kevin Thornton were named the victors with 303 and 226 votes respectively. Swinnerton received 225 votes, while Robert Mahoney and Eric Johnston received 55 votes and 42 votes respectively.
Connie Fern Miller also became the new village justice with 260 votes, beating out Keith Caslin and Michael Nyre with 157 and 62 votes respectively.

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: