Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip
Legislators honor youth, longtime county staffers ADVERTISEMENT

Legislators honor youth, longtime county staffers

PENN YAN--The Yates County Legislature started their Monday, Jan. 8 meeting with an outstanding youth award, recognized longtime county employees for years of service and then approved several key resolutions for the county.
Douglas Paddock, serving as the new legislature chairman, introduced Alicia Avellaneda, director of the Yates County Youth Bureau, to present the award. Avellaneda named Ben DeMoras, a senior at Penn Yan Academy, as the Distinguished Youth Award recipient for the fourth quarter of 2017. Avellaneda said DeMoras is an outstanding recipient for the award. She added, "Ben ranks number three in his class, he is president of four school clubs, an Eagle Scout, a classical pianist and a member of the National Honor Society. He is a conscientious, dedicated school leader and we look forward to watching Ben as he achieves in his adult life."
County employees were also recognized for 'milestone' years of service. The awards recognize county employee service in increments of five year service terms. The complete list of staffers honored Monday included:
County Staffers
40 Year Award: Douglas Reynolds.
20 Year Award: Mary Griffiths, Andrew Boudinot, Joy Jensen, Michael Weichenthal.
15 Year Award: Catherine Beecher, Karen Fudge, Nicole Jensen, Lyle Dencenburg, Kathy Swarthout.
10 Year Award: Suzanne Backer, Robert Brechko, Debra Orr, Christine Warriner.
Five Year Award: William Ratcliffe, Nonie Flynn, Carol Ogden, Sean Wakeman, Rebecca Reed.
Sheriff staffers
30 Year Award: Sandra Siwak.
25 Year Award: Chad Gridley.
20 Year Award: Ann Niver, Pamela Whitford, Lisa Wood.
15 Year Award: Louis Aaron, Connie Greenfield, Jared Bailey, Patricia Fox.
10 Year Award: Jack Stover, Glenn Hasting, Albert Brush, Deborah Carlsen, Charles Emerson.
Five Year Award: Eric Burden.
In other business:
The legislature adopted a resolution to call on the Governor to add Keuka, Seneca and Canandaigua Lake to the state's list of priority lakes that are vulnerable to harmful algal blooms. The state will be investing $60 million in grant funding to implement action plans in the priority areas to counter this harmful environmental threat.
The lawmakers also authorized the county to submit a notification of intent to participate in the Environmental Facilities Corporation Septic System Replacement Program. A total of $225,000 will be available in Round I of the program for residents to receive partial funding help for septic replacements and upgrades. The county will be providing more details on this program.
A resolution was approved adopting by-laws for the Yates County Tourism Advisory Committee (TAC).
Legislators also approved hourly and salary amounts for county employees. The non-union salary schedule is listed below:
Elected Officials
County Clerk $64,614
County Treasurer $72,753
District Attorney $185,200
Legislators (14 at $8,183 each) $114,562
Legislature Chairman $8,183
Sheriff $94,967
Assistant District Attorney (DM) $37,324
Assistant District Attorney (LT) $68,021
Assistant Public Defender (KL) $60,000
Assistant Public Defender (KM) $60,000
Budget Officer $9,518
Building Maintenance Supervisor $58,249
Chief Corrections Officer $63,000
Clerk, County Legislature $54,163
Commissioner of Social Services $66,570
Confidential Assistant to Sheriff $42,162
Conflict Defender $47,048
County Administrator $100,000
County Attorney $92,871
Deputy County Clerk $37,925
Deputy County Treasurer $46,125
Deputy Highway Superintendent $63,090
Director of Children and Family Services $58,804
Director of Community Services $73,185
Director of Emergency Management $65,461
Director of Income Maintenance and Child Support $58,804
Director of Patient Services/Public Health $70,908
Director of Real Property Tax Services $68,769
Director of Veteran Services Agency $47,988
Election Commissioner (D) $39,646
Election Commissioner (R) $39,646
Highway Superintendent $81,349
Information Technology Director $73,561
Personnel Assistant $37,638
Personnel Officer $66,625
Planner $57,092
Probation Director $63,003
Public Defender $72,076
Secretary to District Attorney $36,190
Secretary to Sheriff $36,145
Social Services Attorney $63,449
Supervising Public Health Nurse $61,592
Undersheriff $74,551.

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: