Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip


Obama, Reed win reelection

    TRI-COUNTY AREA—Area election boards have released unofficial results for the Nov. 6 general election, which had a few contested elections.
    The main race on the ballot was for U.S. president.  While President Barack Obama/Vice President Joe Biden won overall, Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan received more support locally.  The Yates County Board of Elections reported that Romney had 50 percent of the Yates County vote (4,270), while 47 percent voted for Obama (4,021).  Romney also won Schuyler County with 3,942 votes or 52 percent.  Obama had 3,354 votes or 44 percent.  In Steuben County, Romney led with 20,425 votes.  Obama had 14,586.
    In the 23rd Congressional District seat, incumbent Tom Reed beat challenger Nate Shinagawa.  Reed won 54 percent or 4,388 votes in Yates County.  Shinagawa had 45 percent or 3,666 votes.  Schuyler County residents also picked Reed, 54 percent or 3,973 votes.  Shinagawa had 45 percent, which is 3,364 votes.  Reed won 20,836 votes in Steuben, while Shinagawa had 13,922.
    In Yates, U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (4,296 votes/53 percent) beat Wendy Long (3,604 votes/44 percent).  Also in Schuyler, Gillibrand (4,109 votes/57 percent) beat Long (2,873 votes/40 percent).  Gillibrand took Steuben County with 18,545 votes, while Long had 15,123 votes.
    Uncontested races included State Senator for the 58th District.  Incumbent Thomas O'Mara won 6,092 votes in Yates, 5,459 votes in Schuyler, and 26,985 votes in Steuben.
    Assemblyman Philip Palmesano for the 132nd District won 99 percent or 6,065 votes in Yates County, unopposed.  In Schuyler, Palmesano also had 99 percent, or 5,279 votes.  He won 19,937 votes in Steuben County.
    Yates voters also selected two Justices of the Supreme Court Seventh District: Gail Donofrio (4,717 or 32 percent) and David Michael Barry (3,977 or 27 percent).  Also on the ballot, J. Scott Odorisi had 2,914 votes and Sean E. Gleason had 2,860.  Steuben voters picked Donofrio (20,342) and Barry (18,741 votes).  Odorisi had 10,458 votes and Gleason had 10,302.  Schuyler residents voted Kevin M. Dowd as the unopposed Supreme Court Justice for the Sixth District (4,595 votes or 99 percent).
    Yates County had three local candidates.  Theron L. Smith took the coroner position with 5,826 votes or 99 percent.  Gene Spanneut won a Milo town council seat with 1,544 votes (99 percent).  The Jerusalem highway superintendent position was won by Rob Martin with 1,216 votes (99 percent).
    In Schuyler County, two candidates vied for one town of Orange board seat.  Lori Ellison won with 203 votes/50 percent.  Nicholas Haner had 190 votes/47 percent.  There were seven write-in votes.  Glenn Bleiler ran unopposed for a Catharine town board seat and received 325 votes (99 percent).
    Schuyler County residents also voted on a proposition to change the number of legislative districts from three to eight (the number of legislators would remain at eight).  Schuyler voters approved the change 3,994 votes/67 percent to 1,936 votes/32 percent against.
    Steuben County residents elected David V. Cole as sheriff (26,420 votes) in an unchallenged race.  Peter C. Bradstreet won county judge (26,292 votes).  John R. Jensen ran unopposed for an Urbana town board seat (388 votes).



Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: