Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip

School voters pass all budgets, elect board members

TRI-COUNTY AREA—School district residents turned out Tuesday, May 19, to vote on school budgets and board candidates.

Penn Yan
In Penn Yan, the proposed budget of $31,312,757 passed with 778 voting yes and 291, no. There were three
propositions on the ballot; one to fund stadium improvements by allocating admission fees from sporting events held at the athletic complex which was approved 697 to 316. Addition of funds to the Computer and Related Technology Reserve Fund through transfer of $105,000 from the existing Tax Certiorari Reserve Fund, previously approved by voters in 2007 was approved 757 to 270. The third proposition, which allows the board of education to withdraw $75,000 from the existing Capital Reserve Fund for improvements to the heating, ventilating and/or air conditioning systems at the Penn Yan Middle School was also approved, 764 to 260. There were seven candidates for four seats on the board of education. The people who received the top three votes tallies will serve three year terms and a fourth will fill the last year of an unexpired term. The candidates and their totals are; incumbent Elizabeth Warren, 739 votes; Ryan Hallings, 718 votes; Loni Terpolilli, 662 votes and James Multer Jr. 468 votes. Multer received six more votes than the next highest candidate, Kenneth Kamholtz, who received 462 votes. Candidates Francis Modaffari received 349 votes and former school board member Michael J. Carmel received 280 votes.

In Dundee, the $13,808,958 budget for the 2009-10 school year passed with 233 voting yes and 67 voting no. A proposition for appropriation of $41,906 for the Dundee Library also passed, 214 to 56. Two DCS graduates were on the ballot for one three-year seat on the board of education. Jared Webster received 196 votes and Craig Lane, 101.


Incumbent Christine Kolodziejczak was elected board member with 305 votes.  Monica Newman, the other candidate for the one seat, got 77 votes.  The budget was passed with 303 votes to 47 against.  The bus and building capital reserve funds were also passed.  The bus fund had 201 votes for and 99 against.  The building fund had 210 for and 80 against.

Watkins Glen
Incumbents Michael Dominic Meyers and Robert Dill were re-elected to the board, with 266 and 295 votes respectively.  Joseph Palumbo was also running and got 140 votes.
The budget passed with 184 yes votes and 65 no votes.  District Clerk Sharon Clark said it was a light turnout this year.

Seven candidates were running for four seats at O-M.  Incumbents Karen Rock and Debra Harrington were re-elected with 255 and 208 votes respectively.  Matt Walters and Don Roberts Jr. were also elected with 226 and 215 votes respectively.  Rock and Walters will serve three year terms and Roberts and Harrington will serve two year terms.
The budget was passed with 196 votes to 77 no votes.

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: