Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip

Village elections will be March 20

    TRI-COUNTY AREA—The 2012 village elections in Penn Yan, Dundee, Dresden, Hammondsport and Watkins Glen will be held Tuesday, March 20.
    Elections in Penn Yan will be for four trustee seats and village justice. The trustee seats currently held by Richard Stewart, Christine Christensen, and Michael Christensen will be for four-year terms. The one held by David Reeve is for two years. The village justice position, currently occupied by Danny Hibbard, is for four years. Petitions for all positions need to be submitted between Feb. 7 and Feb. 14 and need a minimum of 100 signatures. Voting will be at the Penn Yan village hall.
    Dundee will be electing two trustees and a village justice. The trustee seats are currently occupied by Larry Howell and Judy Duquette. The justice position is currently held by Paula Seeley. The term length is four years for all three openings. Petitions for all seats are due Tuesday, Feb. 14 and at least 50 signatures are required. The Dundee village hall will be the voting location.
    In Dresden, the trustee seat currently held by Tom McGuigan will be up for election. The position’s term length is two years. Those interested in running will need to have a petition submitted to the village by Tuesday Feb. 7. Petitions will need at least 10 signatures to be considered eligible. Voting will take place at the Dresden village hall.
    Hammondsport has two trustee seats open: Anne Green and Larry Foster. The Democratic party will hold a caucus to pick candidates, Jan. 26, at 7 p.m. The Republican caucus is Jan. 30, at 7 p.m. Both will be held at the village hall.
    In Watkins Glen, the open seats are currently held by Wayne Weber and Paul Clifford (appointed to fill Greg Coon’s seat). Clerk Donna Beardsley said there are two different deadlines for becoming a candidate. Party nominations need to be into the village office by Feb. 2. She said independent candidates have until Feb. 14 to file as a candidate and need at least 50 signatures.
    Two seats will also be open in Montour Falls: Phil Smith and Jim Ryan (appointed to fill John King’s seat when he became mayor). Independent petitions also need 50 signatures.
    In Odessa, two seats are vacated by Peggy Tomassi and Tim Hicks. Clerk Kristi Pierce explained they are not running for reelection. Petitions need 30 signatures. Pierce added the village only accepts independent petitions when it comes to the village election.
    Burdett also has two seats up on the March ballot.




Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: