Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip

Watkins ends season, gives athletes awards

VESTAL—Watkins’ Shelby Olafson ended the regular spring track and field season at states, Saturday, June 12.
Olafson cleared 5’ 4’’ in the high jump at state qualifiers June 3 to make it back to Vestal Saturday.  However, at states Olafson was unable to clear the high bar the three times she tried.  She was seeded number eight.  Olafson came in number 27 out 34 placers.
Jane Olafson explained her daughter struggled against a leg injury this season, and that now she would be taking the summer to recover before next school year.  Coach Kelsey Wood said a stress fracture was found in Shelby’s right shin over the winter.
“It’s pretty amazing the journey that Shelby has taken this year,” said Wood.

Girls Golf
Watkins Glen’s Jenna Swarthout competed in the girls golf championship at SUNY Delhi, Saturday, June 12.  She finished in 70th place, by putting a total of 230.

The students athletes for the entire 2009-10 year were all honored at the annual Watkins Glen Athletic Awards Night, Wednesday, June 9. The recipients are:
JV Baseball
MVP—Brad Gallow and Ryan Campbell; MIP—Ethan Dean; Sportsmanship—Ryan Rondinaro
Varsity Baseball
MVP—Jesse Rappleye; MIP—Josh Glover; Sportsmanship—Billy Brennan
Girls Track and Field
MVP—Amber Swartz; MIP—Kelsie Hamelin; Sportsmanship—Sarah Teed; Track and Field Award—Sarah Teed
Boys Track and Field
MVP—Eric Mack; MIP—Josh Hamelin; Sportsmanship—Andrew Conklin; Track and Field Award—Eric Mack; T.J. O’Rourke Award—Eric Mack
MVP—Jordan Niver-Johnson and Phillip Kellogg; MIP—Ryan Phelps
Girls Golf
MVP—Jenna Swarthout; MIP—Haleigh Wixson; Sportsmanship—Jenna Swarthout
Boys Golf
MVP—Ethan Roth; MIP—Keith Rekczis and Matt Hayes; Sportsmanship—Adam Rice
JV Softball
MVP—Victoria Goehner and Brianna Davis; MIP—Hilary Mosher; Sportsmanship—Morgan Atwood
Varsity Softball
MVP—Taylor Chaffee and Taylor McCarthy; Senior Awards—Sarah Jane McPherson, Samantha Riley, Stacey Teed and Cassaundra Cole
JV Girls Basketball
MVP—Victoria Goehner and Michaela Olafson; MIP—Courtney Waite; Sportsmanship—Stephanie Clawson
Varsity Girls Basketball
MVP—Taylor Chaffee; MIP—Marissa Pike; Sportsmanship—Shelby Olafson; Best Defensive Player—Kirsten Burge; Melissa Wilson Basketball Award—Sarah Bond
Boys Indoor Track
MVP—Eric Mack; MIP—Larry Morris; Sportsmanship—Joe Daughmer
Girls Indoor Track
MVP—Amber Swartz; MIP—Amelia Stamp; Sportsmanship—Laura Flood
MVP—Dustin Cummings and Adam Hughey; MIP—Charles Mosely; Sportsmanship—Brokton Force
JV Cheerleading
MVP—Micaela Simpson; MIP—Brianna Davis; Sportsmanship—Abigail Rundle
MVP—Tabitha Dobson; MIP—Taylor Hughey; Sportsmanship—Marissa Meehan
JV Boys Basketball
MVP—Chris Duane; MIP—Robbie Rondinaro; Sportsmanship—Austin Stephany
Varsity Boys Basketball
MVP—Stuart Cook and Travis Waite; MIP—Alec Moore; Sportsmanship—Andrew Conklin; James Angelo Basketball Award—Stuart Cook
Boys Bowling
MVP—Ryan VanAlstine; MIP—Chris Flood; Sportsmanship—Logan Rappleye
Girls Bowling
MVP—Stacey Teed, Hannah Lopez, Sarah Teed; MIP—Kylee Carrigan; Sportsmanship—Taryn Hayes
Varsity Boys Swimming and Diving
MVP—Cameron Fitch; MIP—Kyle Cocola; Sportsmanship—Chris Carlton
Girls Soccer
MVP—Angela Keough; MIP—Rachel St. Julien; Sportsmanship—Brittany Miller
Boys Soccer
MVP—Eric Mack; MIP—Gavin Gates; Sportsmanship—Chris Carlton
Boys Cross Country
MVP—Carter Flahive; MIP—Devon Crispell; Sportsmanship—Casey Holland
Girls Cross Country
MVP—Amber Swartz; MIP—Laura Flood; Sportsmanship—Shannon Hazlitt
MVP—Stuart Cook; MIP—Jesse Rappleye; Sportsmanship—Mathew Mangus; Seneca Football Award—Stuart Cook
JV Volleyball
MVP—Maegan Robbins; MIP—Morgan Atwood; Sportsmanship—Sarah Hazlitt
MVP—Samantha Riley; MIP—Kelsey Johnson; Sportsmanship—Shelby Clark
Varsity Girls Swimming and Diving
MVP—Haleigh Wixson; MIP—Sarah Huey; Sportsmanship—Haley Tuttle; Kate L’Amoreaux Award—Haley Tuttle
Badminton and Table Tennis
MVP—Jordan Niver-Johnson; MIP—Ryan Phelps; Sportsmanship—Phillip Kellogg
MVP—Stuart Cook; MIP—Taylor Gates; Sportsmanship—Travis Waite
Dr. Arthur J. Jackson Award—Phillip Kellogg and Jenna Swarthout
Joseph Lemack Award—Stuart Cook and Samantha Riley
Francis W. Blake Sportsmanship Awards—Eric Mack, Taylor McCarthy
2009-10 Coach of the Year—Jason Bond
Coaching Retirement Recognition—Ron Pierce (25 year of service to the district)
Fan of the Year—Don Romeo

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: