Web Results by google  
back4 weather
Enter city or zip

Wayne recognizes firefighters, volunteers

    WAYNE—The Wayne Fire Department honored its firefighters, responders, and auxiliary members at the annual Past Fire Chief’s Banquet, Saturday, May 12.
    The Firefighter of the Year Award went to William Bason, who is also a past chief.  Chief Larry Day said Bason had moved out of the area and left the department, but came back and rejoined last year.  He added Bason received the award because he had left, but “decided to be energized again.”
    “It’s not always the one who runs into the burning building to save lives,” said Day about the recipient of Firefighter of the Year.  “It’s usually someone who has been there for many, many years and is dedicated.”
    The Emergency Medical Services Member of the Year was Marie Kervan-Prawl.  Day said she slso received the EMS award last year.  She is on call during the day and makes many emergency response calls.
    The Service Award went to Lou Wisely for rescuing a person from a car fire.  Wisely described the incident and how the car went off the road and up onto a rock.  He said he saw the fire spark underneath the vehicle and got the driver out as other members arrived on the scene.  
    Several people were also honored for their service to the department.  Terry Wax (past chief) and John McIntosh served 40 years.  Gerry Warren and Bill Plaisted (past chief) each gave their time to the unit for 35 years respectively.  Mike Northrup served 25 years and Lukas Dickerson had five years.
    A group of over 10 members recently joined the department, with most of them starting the end of 2011 or in 2012.  Day pointed out there is a gap from 2001 to 2011 when only a few new members joined.  He said Lukas Dickerson and Chris Bason were responsible for the surge in firefighters.  He said they went into the community and encouraged new people to join.
    Day said that last year seven Wayne Fire Department members responded to Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee.  They were: Brian Bartlett, Chuck Swarthout, Chris Bason, Chris Cermak, Joel Cook, Nate Cook, and Brett Snyder.
    “Thank you very much,” said Day.
    At the end of the evening, a special award was given to the McAfee family in memory of the 50 years of service to the department’s auxiliary member Janet McAfee.  McAfee passed away recently.




Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: