Area village elections are next Tuesday

Mar 15, 2023 at 11:44 pm by Observer-Review

Area village elections are next Tuesday ADVERTISEMENT

Area village elections are next Tuesday

FINGER LAKES--Tuesday, March 21 will mark election day for many area villages throughout the region. While most local races are unopposed, Watkins Glen will see the election of a mayor as well as two trustee seats in contested races. Voting will run from noon to 9 p.m. for the following candidates at the identified polling locations.
Watkins Glen has four open positions: mayor, two trustee seats, and judge. The polling station is located at the Community Center (155 S. Clute Park Drive, Watkins Glen). Candidates for mayor include Republican (R) Louis Perazzini and Democrat (D) and Public Be Heard Party Line (PH) candidate Laura DeNardo. Candidates for the two open trustee positions, which are four-year terms, are Jerri-Lynn Chronis (R), Peter Cherock (D,PH), and Margaret Schimizzi (D,PH). Steven Decker (R, Peoples Voice) is running unopposed for another four-term as village justice.
In Dundee, all candidates are unopposed. Frederick Cratsley, Jr. is running for a four-year term as Mayor. Warren Smith and Greg Wright are both running for trustee positions for four years. Registered voters should go to the Village Hall Community Room (12 Union St., Dundee).
Penn Yan registered voters should go to the Village Hall (111 Elm St., Penn Yan) to cast their ballots in the special election. One, one-year trustee position is open. Daniel Henries, Jr. is running unopposed.
Dresden also has two unopposed candidates. William Hall is on the ballot for the two-year mayor position and Bret Siegrist is running for village trustee, also a two-year term. The poll location is at the village meeting room, 3 Firehouse Ave.
Hammondsport registered voters can vote at the Fred and Harriet Taylor Memorial Library (21 William St., Hammondsport). Two, two-year Trustee seats are open as is the Mayor's seat. Candidates running for trustee include Joshua Rosenbloom (D) and Stella Pulver (R). Jean Jensen is running unopposed for the mayor's seat, which also carries a two-year term.
In Odessa, three positions are open: Mayor and two Trustee positions. Voting will take place at the Village Hall (300 East Main Street, Odessa). Candidates include Gerard Messmer III running unopposed for the two-year mayor term and Thomas Letteer Jr. running unopposed for a village trustee seat, also a two-year term. The second trustee position will be filled by a write-in candidate.
For Burdett, three positions are open with unopposed candidates, the mayor and two trustee seats. Voting will take place at the village hall, 4124 Lake Ave. St. Rt. 79. Candidates for these positions include the following: Dale Walter - mayor, Linda Arcangeli - trustee and Judy Mangus - trustee.
The village of Montour Falls does not have an election in this cycle.





Sections: NEWS 1